Knitting Geek Speak


I’ve been helping to teach new knitters at London’s Stitch and Bitch meetings, which has been really fun and rewarding and I’ve met new people. Surprisingly, through the process of teaching others I’ve learned so much and made a giant leap for mankind, I mean, my knitting.

To begin with, I’m a self-taught knitter from the internet and just kind of fiddling around until the finished piece looked right. This caused me to knit in a very, very idiosyncratic way. I didn’t know my way of knitting was so weird until I began to teach and watch how the other teachers knit.

So my way is that I hold the two needles below my hands, palms down, needles pass under my fingers towards my wrist. I let the working yarn drop with every stitch to pick it up again each stitch. Because of this, i have to pass the working needle to my left hand at each stitch.

I’ve figured out the more common way now! Hold the needles like pencils, wrap the yarn around your index finger (i use my left index finger) and zoom! It’s much faster and i don’t drop needles every 5 seconds. (Alex will be pleased)

I’m still getting the hang of it. It makes cables a little bit awkward to work, but I’m practising. A hat is on the way.

Also, to keep you posted. I’m starting to design a knitwear collection based on the Greek Vases at the British museum. I’ll post my sketches later.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

